Thursday , 2 February 2023

1.4.1 The Prophets of Allah

Why did Allah send Prophets?

Hoopoo of SulaymanThere are many things we do not know about the unseen world and also about what we should and should not do as Muslims. Allah sent Prophets to humans and jinn so that they could teach us this information.

We must believe in all the Prophets that were named in the Qur’an.  We must not do as some people do: they believe in some Prophets and reject the others.  All the Prophets had miracles by which they proved that they were Prophets.

The 25 Prophets in the Qur’an

We do not know exactly how many Prophets Allah sent to mankind and jinn, but there are 25 that are named in the Qur’an.  We must accept all of these as messengers of Allah to various peoples and nations. The 25 are:

  • Adam
  • Idris (Enoch)
  • Nuh (Noah)
  • Hud
  • Salih
  • Ibrahim (Abraham)
  • Lut (Lot)
  • Isma’il (Ishmael)
  • Isshaq (Isaac)
  • Ya’qub/Isra’il (Jacob/Israel)
  • Yusuf (Joseph)
  • Ayyub (Job)
  • Shu’ayb
  • Musa (Moses)
  • Harun (Aaron)
  • Dhul-Kifl (Ezekiel)
  • Dawud (David)
  • Sulayman (Solomon)
  • Ilyas (Elias)
  • Al-Yas’ (Elisha)
  • Yunus (Jonah)
  • Zakariyya (Zacharias)
  • Yahya (John)
  • Al-Masih/’Isa (Messiah/Jesus)
  • Muhammad

Attributes of the Prophets

  • 4 Attributes of the Prophets
  • 4 Attributes Prophets Cannot Have
  1. They always tell the truth.
  2. They always obey Allah.
  3. They deliver Allah’s message to the people.
  4. They are all intelligent.
  1. Attributes that are the opposite of the above 4. That means they never lie, commit sins or hide the message of Allah. None are ignorant.
  2. They never do shameful things.
  3. They do not have problems that prevent them from delivering their message. For example, none of them were mute or blind.
  4. They do not have any problem that makes people run away from them. For example, none of them had contagious diseases.

The Prophets Have Ranks

Though we are required to believe in every one of Allah’s Prophets, we know that some of them have higher rank than others.
Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be on him and on all Prophets) is the master of mankind and the master of the Prophets. He said, “I am the master of the children of Adam and [I say this] without pride]. Allah called some of them the resolute ones (ulu al-‘azm). They are: Muhammad, Ibrahim, Musa, ‘Isa, Nuh (Peace be upon them)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.